hooked on colour

I knit for many reasons but one of the biggest is for colour. The amazing variety of soft yarns we can find so easily at any yarn shop today was not so available when I became a serious knitter in the 1980’s. There was wool, cotton, some mohair and a lot of acrylic. I didn’t care so much because it was the colours that drew me into the shops. I had absolutely no respect for gauge or the consequences of combining fibres. When the lovely owner of my LYS at the time (anyone remember The Hill Knittery in Richmond Hill?) directed me towards Kaffe Fassett, I was enthralled. I knit several of his patterns in those years before having children and this is the only photo that I have.

This is my wonderful and so very beautiful aunt wearing one of my version’s of Jack’s Back Stripe from Kaffe Fassett’s Glorious Knitting. I recall using about 40 different yarns in this, combining some of them in an attempt to keep the weights somewhat similar. There was a lot of wool, some chenille, a lot of mohair, including one delicious ball that had strands of fuchsia hidden among the blues, purples, bits of black and green. Too bad none of that pink showed up in this picture! The dyer in me needs to take note of the fact that a knitter who loves colour can remember a truly beautiful skein 30 years after knitting it. I wish I knew where that skein came from. I just remember that it was expensive and I only had one and spread it out carefully through this sweater.

The sweater is long gone too. My aunt wore it for years but as it was knit loosely and side to side, it grew and it grew and it grew. She gave it to her much taller sister who wore it for a couple of years and then it was passed on to someone else who pinned up the sleeves and wore it as more of a robe. I have no idea what happened to the other Kaffe patterns I knit and gave away so many years ago.

I just bought the newest book by Kaffe Fassett and Brandon Mably – Knitting With the Color Guys. Do I really need this book? Probably not, but I have all of Kaffe’s other books and I love starting my day with a cup of tea and one of them, just flipping through the pictures. Over the years I have come to realize that while I love what he does with colour, we do not share the same colour preferences. At one point I purchased a number of his quilting fabrics but when I got home I realized that while I love what they do together, I don’t actually like the colours he uses. Too many yellow and gold undertones for me. I have learned from that expensive experiment and now like to use his ideas with the shades and tones that I love. This quilt was a lot of fun to make and I love the overall effect but if I were to do it again, I would only use fabrics that make me happy. I think I loved 10% of these fabrics and tolerated the rest because they made the project work. Now I would make sure those statistics were reversed! I am still slowly sewing my way through that part of my stash!

I keep thinking it is time to knit another colour explosion but then I look in my dresser and see that as much as I love to work with crazy amounts of colour, I like to wear pretty simple things – except for my socks and mittens. Maybe I should use the colour inspiration with my sewing machine and make another quilt or doctor up some jeans for my daughter. We are having our first burst of spring after a dull and dreary winter so I will get things blooming on my needles and sewing machine to inspire the outdoors!


One thought on “hooked on colour

  1. Carol says:

    I was also a fan of Bev and The Hill Knittery. I always found it to be a welcoming place, and I also enjoyed attending Guild meetings there.

Leave a Reply

